Follow Me!

Wednesday, March 18, 2015

Review of Secret Voices by Lynn Donovan

Secret Voices, by Lynn Donovan, is the third book in the Spirit of Destiny series.
Keisha Moore has heard voices in her head since she was a child. Instinctively, she knew people would call her crazy if she ever mentioned them. They remain a secret, a secret intertwined with her mother and father’s past. However, when the life of her fiancĂ©, Clifford, is threatened, only the voices offer the help she desperately needs. Will anyone believe the voices are real?

Secret Voices is a Christian paranormal. Many Christians will be uncomfortable with the “voices” communicating with the main character. Others will realize this is paranormal/fantasy and is not to be taken literally. I read it as a paranormal and do not expect more realism than I would find in a book about vampires, zombies, or werewolves. So, the strange voices did not bother me.

However, an aspect that did disturb me was the characters’ attitudes toward abortion. It seemed as if some were advocating it, one so far as seeing it as God’s will (if I remember correctly). I’m not sure that was what Ms. Donovan was trying to convey. If she meant that we should forgive and forget the past, I wholeheartedly concur. Honestly, I do not think that the author is a proponent of abortion, although it may seem that way at first glance.
The characters were well developed. Clifford is not your normal male love interest, and his uniqueness was intriguing. Overall, I enjoyed Secret Voices.
It is available for pre-order here: Secret Voices. Check out Lynn Donovan’s Amazon author’s page for more information! 

Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Cover for Fading Thunder, In the Shadow of the Cedar, Book 4

In Fading Thunder, the young men return from World War II. Michael's homecoming is not what Sarah Jane has envisioned. After years spent in the Pacific, Michael has a lot of baggage, not the least of which is Argos, the war dog. Has the war hardened Argos and Michael so much that they are a threat to the family's safety? 

Sarah Jane remembers the old woman's words, from so long ago, that Michael would return broken but not beyond repair. How such brokenness will mend is incomprehensible to Sarah Jane. She must learn anew that healing will only be found... in the shadow of the cedar.

Release date is May 3rd!

This is the last book of the series. By the way, the working title was Thunder's End. I'm pleased with the new title, the cover, and the story and hope readers will be also.

As I've mentioned before, this is the end of the series. However, the characters will live on in a new series, Southern Pines Mysteries. The main characters in the new series will be Zeke and Grace, Marla's sister. The other characters from In the Shadow of the Cedar will make an appearance from time to time. I hope to have the first two books of the new series published this year, if the Lord is willing!